Meet Our Past and Present Executive Board

Vicki Smith
P.O. Box 2
Mimbres, NM 88049
Phone: 575-536-9453

Immediate Past President
Dr. Annette Johnson
P.O. Box 132
Cimmaron, NM 87714
Phone: 575-376-2356

First Vice-President
Michael Torrez
P.O. Box 816
Ranchos de Taos, NM 87557
Phone: 575-770-3137

Second Vice President
Linda Carr
515 16th St
Alamogordo, NM 88310
Phone: 575-437-4184

Third Vice President/Legislation Chair
Pauline Rindone
3232 El Trebol Court
Santa Fe, NM 87507
Phone: 505 474-4311

At Large Representative for Amendments 
Richard Schriver
1008 N. Alameda Blvd
Las Cruces, NM 88005
Phone: 575 524-2809

At Large Representative for Membership/Retirement Planning
Gail Wiley 
2510 Rolling Hills Lane
Las Cruces, NM 88011
Phone: 575 522-2893


Roger Greer 
3044 Pueblo Grande
Santa Fe, NM 87507
Phone: 505 934-0090

NMAER Representative to Retiree Health Care Authority Board

Joe Montano 
5304 Hattiesburg NE 
Albuquerque, NM 87120 
Phone: 505-897-9518

NMAER Representative to Educational Retirement Board
H. Russell Goff
3900 Juan Tabo NE
Albuquerque, NM 87111
Phone: (505) 821-7762

Necrology Editor & Historian
Alice Pegues 
2709 Utah N.E. 
Albuquerque, NM 87110 
Phone: 299-1875

Nominations and Elections Committee Chair
Rebecca Baca
P.O. Box 1302
Las Vegas, NM 87701-1302
Phone:505 425-8550

Dr Tomas Salazar
P.O. Box 86
Las Vegas, NM 87701
Phone: 505 421-2455


H. Russell Goff
3900 Juan Tabo NE
Albuquerque, NM 87111
Phone: (505) 821-7762

Janice Sells
Juan Tabo Plaza Garden Office 
3900 Juan Tabo N.E. 
Albuquerque, NM 87111 
Phone: (505) 275-6427 

Debbie Garrison
Juan Tabo Plaza Garden Office
3900 Juan Tabo N.E.
Albuquerque, NM 87111
Phone: 293-6584

Sue Griffith
Albuquerque, NM
Cell Phone: 505-220-1038

Richard Romero
Albuquerque, NM
Cell Phone: 505-453-1986

Peggy Clemmons
Juan Tabo Plaza Garden Office
3900 Juan Tabo N.E.
Albuquerque, NM 87111
Phone: (505) 275-6427

First, I would like to pause to express our deepest sympathy to Representative Tomas Salazar at the passing of his mother. There is little one can say at this time of bereavement but to express our heartfelt sympathy to Tomas and ask the Lord to provide the comfort and strength to him and his family at this most difficult hour. Secondly, I want to express my gratitude to all who were so faithful during the 2019 Legislative Session. Through your tenacity the essential legislation was passed to ensure the solvency of our retirement pensions. A very special thank you to Russell Goff for all of his demanding and difficult work, our loyal and faithful Rep. Tomas Salazar who carried our bills, Pauline Rindone for her work last fall with our legislative committee in helping us prepare for the Legislative Session, Senator Jeff Steinborn for sponsoring SB 664 which provides for a surviving spouse or domestic partner to be considered a beneficiary if the deceased member of the educational retirement plan has not designated a beneficiary, Senator Mimi Stewart and Representative Sheryl Stapleton in sponsoring memorials recognizing NMAER Day in the Senate and the House of Representatives.
I certainly don’t want to overlook those who worked so diligently for us all during the session, Terry and Roger Greer, Joe Montano, Linda Carr and her work with the AAls, The City Different REA for assistance at hearings and Senior Day, our lobbyists: Sue Griffith and Richard Romero, the Adopt-A-Legislator volunteers who kept the emails and phone calls flowing, and our faithful partners DeAnza Sapien and the AARP Legislative Council. I’m sure I may have overlooked someone; if I have, please forgive me.
Our work is already cut out for us for the next session. We must begin lobbying our own local Senators and Representatives NOW -- NOT NEXT JANUARY, in order to pass the necessary required solvency to our Retiree Health Care.
A special congratulations to Annette Johnson, newly elected President of the New Mexico AARP. I know our partnership with NMAARP will become even stronger. They not only work along side of us in New Mexico, but at the national level to protect our Social Security, Medicare and Medicaid, not to mention the other issues that arise which affect us as retirees.
Keep tuned in on all fronts. Right now in Washington, lawmakers and policy experts are grappling over the future of our Social Security that some claim is in serious trouble. Supporters of this agenda to slash funding for Social Security and Medicare are talking about cutting our earned benefits to reduce the federal deficit. We can survive this issue with the help of the AARP and the Retired Teachers Association.
As you’ve heard us say many times before, “DON’T TAKE YOUR BENEFITS FOR GRANTED”.

1942-43    -     DR. J.R. MC COLLUM 
1943-46    -     ESTELLE POPE HAYES
1946-47    -     W.B. MC FARLAND
1947-53    -     CHARLES B. REDICK
1953-57    -     W. G. DONLEY
1957-60    -    FLORA ANDREWS
1960-61    -    DR. C.B. WIVEL
1961-62    -     ISABEL MC INERNEY
1962-64    -    ARTHUR R. WOOD
1964-65    -    C.V. KOOGER
1965-66    -    K.C. LEA
1966-67    -    CHARLES L. MILLS
1967-68    -    DR. J. CLOYD MILLER
1968-69    -    DR. J. L. BURKE
1969-70    -    ADELINO SANCHEZ
1970-71    -     RAY J. LOFTON
1971-72    -     BUREN LINTHICUM
1972-73    -    LURA BENNETT
1973-74    -    STELLA VAUGHN
1974-75    -    MARY FORAKER
1975-76    -    DR. GUY WALD
1976-77    -    EDITH DONALDSON
                       VERNON MILLS
1977-78    -    RICHARD R. MOCK
1978-80    -    HAROLD R. GOFF
1980-81    -    ALMEDA OBERG
1981-83    -    A.C. WOODBURN
1983          -    DAN WOODEN
1983-85    -    RUTH DEESE
1985-87    -    MARY HELEN GOBLE
1987-89    -    PAT GANT
1989-91    -     RALPH DRAKE
1991-93    -     SOPHIA JARAMILLO
1993-95    -    W.E. HENDRICKSON
1995-97    -    BILL CHILDRESS
1997-99    -    CHON LA BRIER
1999-01    -    DR. DEWEY LANGSTON
2001-03    -   DR. HENDRIK C. DE BRUIN
2003          -   MARGE LANCASTER
2004-06    -   DR. REBECCA GARCIA LUTZ
2006-08    -   HRIS DI GREGORIO
2008-10    -    BARBARA BONAHOOM
2010          -    DR. PHIL H. BARCK
2011-13     -     DR. TOMAS SALAZAR
2014-15    -     JENNIE DI GREGORIO
2016-17    -     DR. ANNETTE JOHNSON